

Minutes of Arlberg Ski Club (Inc) Annual General Meeting

Date: 10th April 2013. Time: 7:00 pm.

Venue: Snow Centre, 19 Mahuru St, Newmarket, Auckland.

Present: Matthew Adams, Jeanette Bishop, John Boersen, Linda Danen, Leonie Deane, Laurie Holloway, Sasha Madarasz, Glen McBean, Michael McLean, Esther Menzi, Avril Monk, Reid Mossman, Robert Nicholls, Greg Owen, John Priest, Lee Sawyer, Jim Scharfe, John Sherlock, Catherine Shipton, Francis Smeets, John Spooner, Hamish Stevens, Kathleen Stone, Bob Wilson, Jan Wilson

<u>Apologies:</u> David Boersen, Warren Finn, John Hutchings, Judy Langley, Peter Langley, Barry Nicholls, Edward Orange, Rodney Penney

(1) Welcome. Michael McLean (President) welcomed everyone to the AGM and thanked the Snow Centre.

(2) Minutes of 2012 AGM.

Motion: That the minutes be accepted as a true and fair record. Moved by Michael McLean / Seconded by Robert Nicholls. Carried.

(3) Matters arising from the 2012 Minutes

A brief mention was made of the resolution in 2012 allowing notice of the AGM to be by email rather than by post.

(4) President's Report for 2012

Michael McLean presented his report.

Particular mention was made of

- Plans for the club's 50th Anniversary in May 2014.
- Implications of the existing "five year rule" for work party participation
- Maintenance requirements

Michael McLean also gave special thanks to outgoing members of the committee.

Motion: That the club would like to thank Glen McBean, Esther Menzi and John Hutchings for their contribution to the club. Moved by John Priest / Seconded by Jan Wilson.

Carried.



(5) Treasurer's Report for 2012

Presented by Hamish Stevens

Motion: That the Treasurer's Report be accepted.

Moved by Michael McLean / Seconded by John Sherlock.

Carried.

(6) Confirmation of Fees for 2013

Motion: That the Club subscription fees and bunk night fees remain unchanged for 2013.

Moved by Michael McLean / Seconded by Lee Sawyer

Carried.

(7) Election of Officers.

The following members resigned from the Committee:

John Hutching (Club Captain)

Glen McBean (Maintenance)

Esther Menzi (Food Officer)

Michael McLean called for nominations, particularly for the roles of:

Club Captain

Food Officer

Maintenance Officer

No nominations were received; however the committee will seek to co-opt other club members on to the committee for specific roles.

Remaining on the committee and seeking re-election are:

Michael McLean (President)

Greg Owen (Vice President)

Hamish Stevens (Treasurer)

John Priest (Secretary)

Linda Danen (Membership)

Leonie Deane

Robert Nicholls

Kathleen Stone

Motion: That those members wishing to remain on the committee be reelected.

Moved by Michael McLean / seconded by John Priest.

Carried

Reid Mossman will continue to have responsibility for the Club newsletter.



(8) General Business:

There was discussion about the future maintenance requirements of the lodge, including the possible cost of repairing the cantilever beam in the corner of the dining room. Mention was made of the maintenance schedule prepared by Linda Danen.

Members applauded when Hamish Stevens proposed a show of thanks to Michael McLean for his contribution as President.

There was a discussion about possible criteria for future nominees for Life Membership. The committee will discuss and also seek input from those who already are Life Members.

The "five year rule" for work parties was discussed, in particular regarding the need to show flexibility for members who use the club infrequently or not at all. The committee will consider what other ways we could encourage work party participation.

Ideas for the format of the 50th Anniversary celebration in May 2014 were discussed. There was general agreement that drinks and dinner at an Auckland restaurant, at a reasonable price, would be appropriate.

Mention was made of the continuing update of the Arlberg website.

The meeting closed at 8:15pm.